Update: Akufo-Addo reveals 13-name ministerial list; promises two more batches

President Nana Akufo-Addo has named 13 ministers in the first list of ministers to serve in his government at a press conference in the Flagstaff House.

The list is heavily dominated by former government officials of the Kufuor government. As many as six of Kufour’s men and women are now a part of Akufo-Addo’s government.

Myjoyonline.com did a live update of the announcements.


President Nana Akufo-Addo is set to reveal names of his ministers at a press conference in the Flagstaff House.

Speculations have been rife since he was declared winner of the 2016 presidential elections. But he is set to put to bed all the social media rumours of the make-up of his government.

He has already revealed four names – former Trade minister and candidate for the directorship of the World Trade Organisation Alan Kyerematen for Trade Ministry while a one-time favourite for running mate, Hajia Alima Mahama heads to the Ministry for Local Government and Rural Development.

Anyaa-Sowutuom MP Shirley Ayorkor Botchway for the Foreign Ministry and Kwadaso MP Dr. Afriyie Akoto, who has been his childhood friend, for the Ministry of Agriculture.

President Nana Akufo Addo

Dr. Afriyie Akoto

He has assured former Deputy Minority leader Dominic Nitiwul that he will be in his government. Which post?, we will find out soon.

President Akufo-Addo says he is releasing only 13 names today. A second and third batch will be released on Thursday. He says the first list has been sent to Parliament.

He says Yaw Osafo Marfo will be his senior minister, confirming speculations. He described him as the most sucessful Finance minister in Ghana.

He was appointed Minister of Finance in February 2001 and later Minister of Finance and Economic Planning during the Kufuor Administration. He held this position until January 2005. At the Ministry of Finance he oversaw the dramatic turnaround of the Ghanaian economy. In November 2001 he was named Finance Minister of the year with his Canadian counterpart Paul Martin by the World Economic Forum and Finance Minister of the year 2001, Africa, by Banker Magazine, a Financial Times publication.

‘He took us into HIPC and got us out of HIPC’, he praises Osafo Marfo as he recounts his vast experience in the former NPP government. He wants his senoir minister to help turn the economy around.


National Security minister – Albert Kan-Dappah

He moves on to National Security and explains the postion is to create an office that will answer to Parliament and provide accountability for the conduct of national security. Albert Kan-Dapaah is his pick. He was Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee of Parliament.

He won the Afigya-Sekyere seat at the 1996 parliamentary election and has held his seat in the two subsequent parliamentary elections in 2000 and 2004.

Albert Kan-Dapaah became Minister for Energy in the Kufuour government after the NPP won power in the 2000 elections. During the April 2003 cabinet reshuffle, he became the Minister for Communications and Technology.He became the Minister for Interior during Kufuor’s second term.


Finance minister – Ken Ofori-Atta

‘We need somebody of finance who has the range, who has the capacity and insight to move mortal economies’, Akufo-Addo explains and picks Ken Ofori-Atta, founder of Databank.

Mr. Ken Ofori-Atta is a Co-Founder of Databank Financial Services Limited and served as its Executive Chairman from 1990 to February 14, 2012. Mr. Ofori-Atta worked with Salomon Brothers and Morgan Stanley, on debt and equity issues and financing for a variety of industries.

He is a Director for Enterprise Group Ltd and Trust Bank Ltd of The Gambia of which he is Chairman. He is a Director at the International Bank of Liberia.

Ken had his education at Achimota School in Ghana. He proceeded to have a Bachelor of Arts in Economics from Columbia University (1984) and an MBA from the Yale University School of Management in 1988.


Energy, Petroluem and Power minister – Boakye Agyarko

Akufo-Addo says he wants somebody who will make ‘dumsor’ (erratic power supply), ‘a thing permanently of the past’. The 2012 NPP Campaign Manager, Boakye Agyarko is his pick. He is former Bank of New York Governor.

Akufo-Addo has merged the Power ministry with the Energy Ministry after the former government found a need to split the two during the height of the energy crisis in November 2014.

Defence minister – Dominic Bingab Nitiwul

Akufo-Addo recalls meeting Dominic Nitiwul for the first time when he was elected Bimbilla MP. He had a baby-face, he says of the young politician. He entered Parliament in 2002 at the age of 25 years and was the youngest at the time.

He was a member of five committees in Parliament – Appointments, Business, Committee of Selections, Finance, Roads and Transport.

Interior minister – Ambrose Derry

‘I believe he is just the right man to provide the leadership of the interior ministry’, he says. He wants a lawyer with an understanding of security and who can balance the needs of the ministry and the demands of the public.

He is former deputy Minority Leader and MP for Nandom

Attorney-General – Gloria Akufo

‘She has very strong views, very ethical and she was the former deputy Attorney-General’, Akufo-Addo says and adds she was his deputy when he was at the Attorney-General’s Department under the Kufuor government.

At the time of her appointment, she was the first-ever female Deputy Attorney-General. Akufo-Addo describes her new job as demanding and challenging.


Education ministry – Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh

He has very independent views.  He is very familiar with areas like health, education. He will be in charge of making the NPP’s electoral promise of free Senior High School education a reality.

He was the minority spokesman on health in parliament. ‘People would have though that as a doctor he should go to Health. But that is not my view’ he says

He settles on Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh whom he describes as a vocal Manhyia South MP.


Health Ministry – Kwaku Agyemang Manu

MP for Dormaa Central was the chairman of the Public Account Committee in the last Parliament.

Akufo-Addo is done with his list and he has promised to release more names by Friday. He urged MPs to vet his nominations as thoroughly as possible but also bear in mind Ghanaians need his government to quickly address the ‘very difficult’ times in Ghana’s economy.

Please listen to full Audio:

You might also like More from author

Leave a comment