Haruna Iddrisu is Minority Leader!

The Member of Parliament for Tamale South, Haruna Iddrisu, has been nominated and accepted by the Minority as their Leader in Parliament.

He was proposed by General Secretary of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Johnson Asiedu Nketia at meeting with the party’s caucus.

He beat MP for Ketu North and Chairman of the Finance Committee of Parliament, James Klutse Avedzi, to the top post.

The Volta Caucus in Parliament had been pushing Mr. Avedzi for the job. But the national executive of the NDC backed Mr. Iddrisu’s candidature and proposed him to the Minority at a caucus meeting Thursday.

Mr. Avedzi is the Deputy Minority Leader.

Haruna Iddrisu is the outgoing Minister for Employment and Labour Relations. He entered Parliament in 2005 after winning the newly created Tamale South Constituency seat in the 2004 Parliamentary elections.

As soon as he entered Parliament at 34, he instantly became a rising star both in national and NDC politics thanks to his oratory.

He became National Youth Organiser of the NDC and served as master of ceremonies at many party events and functions.

Before his foray into national partisan politics, Mr. Iddrisu had gained national recognition as President of the National Union of Ghana Students.

He was appointed Communications Minister by the late president John Atta Mills, a position he held until 2013.

President Jon Mahama who won the 2012 election appointed him Trade Minister and later as Minister for Employment and Labour Relations. 

Current Majority Chief Whip and MP for Asawase in the Ashanti Region, Alhaji Mohammed Muntaka Mubarak is now the Minority Chief Whip.

Ahmed Ibrahim, MP for Banda is the First Deputy Minority Chief Whip whilst Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe-Ghansah, MP for Ada is the Second Deputy Minority Chief Whip.

On the Majority caucus, Suame MP Osei-Kyei Mensah Bonsu is set to be Majority Leader – a simple switch from Minority leader when his party was in opposition.

The name bandied around as his deputy is MP for Dome-Kwabenya – Adwoa Safo. The pick makes it almost certain that Bimbilla MP Dominic Nitiwul who was the deputy Minority Leader is set for a ministerial appointment in Nana Akufo-Addo’s government.

You might also like More from author

Leave a comment